ESSA S^4 preliminary program

The school will be held at the ISTC-CNR, Via S. Martino della Battaglia, 44, 00185 Roma, room Piaget.

Monday 26th September 2016

Morning (9:00-13:30)


09.00 Welcome


09:15-10:45 Documenting your agent-based model using the ODD protocol (Gary Polhill, The James Hutton Institute, Aberdeen, Scotland, UK, gary.Polhill@hutton.ac.uk)


10:45 Coffee Break


11.15-13.00 What is social simulation (Flaminio Squazzoni, University of Brescia, Italy, flaminio.squazzoni@unibs.it)


13:00 Lunch


Afternoon (14:30-17:30)


14:30-16:00 Norms, punishment and cognitive foundation (Giulia Andrighetto, LABSS-CNR, Italy, giulia.andrighetto@istc.cnr.it)


16:00 Coffee Break


16:30-17:30 Introduction to Netlogo: from object based to agent based programming (Federico Cecconi, LABSS-CNR, Italy, federico.cecconi@istc.cnr.it)


Theory & Tools


Tuesday 27th

September 2016

Morning (9:30-13:30)


09:30-11:00 Experimentally grounded social simulation (Flaminio Squazzoni)

11:00 Coffee Break


11:30-13:30 Agent-based models & social networks: approaches, models and empirical data (Simone Gabbriellini, University of Brescia, Italy, simone.gabbriellini@unibs.it)


13:30 Lunch


Afternoon (14:30-17:30)


14:30-16:00 Setup of Netlogo + R


16:00 Coffee Break


16:30-17:30 Netlogo coding: property definition, command vs report, ask, self vs. myself; the lists. (Federico Cecconi)


Theory & Tools

Wednesday 28th

September 2016

Morning (9:30-13:30)


(short talks)


09:30-10:15 ABM for macroeconomy modeling (Federico Cecconi)


10:15-11:00 ABM and finance (Federico Cecconi)


11:00 Coffee Break



11:30-12:15 Reputation (Mario Paolucci, LABSS-CNR, Italy, mario.paolucci@istc.cnr.it)


12:15-13:30 Jason: multi-agent cognitive development platform (Mario Paolucci)


13:30 Lunch


Afternoon (14:30-17:30)


14:30-16:00 Netlogo coding examples: networks, the SantaFe bar, genetic algorithms, learning (Federico Cecconi) – part 1


16:00 Coffee Break


16:30-17:30 Netlogo coding examples: networks, the SantaFe bar, genetic algorithms, learning (Federico Cecconi) – part 2



Social Dinner (20:30)


Applications & Examples

Thursday 29th

September 2016

Morning (11:30-13:30)




09:30-11:00 Presentations from school participants


11:00 Coffee Break


11:30-12:30 The role of costly information and unreliable reputation in networked cooperative interactions: experimental evidence (Alberto Antonioni, University of Lausanne, Suisse, alberto.antonioni@unil.ch)


12:30-13:30 Big data in a nutshell by EXCEL (Federico Cecconi)


13:30 Lunch


Afternoon (14:30-17:30)


14:30:16:00 R coding and examples (Mario Paolucci) – part 1


16:00 Coffee Break


16:30:17:30 R coding and examples (Mario Paolucci) – part 2




Emipirical data.

R: the software for statistical modeling

Friday 30th

September 2016

Morning (9:30-13:30)


09:30-11:00 Introduction to Sociophysics: voter model; simulations of socio physical models (Daniele Vilone, LABSS-ISTC, Italy, daniele.vilone@istc.cnr.it) – part 1


11:00 Coffee Break


11:30-13:30 Introduction to Sociophysics: voter model; simulations of socio physical models (Daniele Vilone, LABSS-ISTC, Italy, daniele.vilone@istc.cnr.it) – part 2


13:30 Lunch


-- end of school


SocioPhysics



← Older Newer →